Name: Kelsi Cypser

Home university: Iowa State University

Internship placement: NZ Police

“I saw and did so many amazing things even after the expedition part of the program. You go on a trip of a lifetime and also gain knowledge about your future career and learn so many things that will benefit you in your coursework. ”

dsc_4379

What is your favourite NZ memory?

Skydiving over Lake Taupo

Biggest accomplishment since NE&I?

The marketing courses taught by Frank Sligo really helped me in my semester following the NZ trip. I took a couple marketing classes and applied what I learned from Frank in those courses. I ended up receiving the highest grade in one of the marketing courses out of about 400 students and also earned a 4.0 GPA for the semester.

What are you doing now in your degree/career?

I am still a student at Iowa State taking mostly marketing courses. I just started a marketing/advertising internship at a dress company for this semester and also for the summer.

What impact has your internship experience had on your personal and professional journeys?

My internship experience for the NZ Police developed my communication skills and expanded my views about audiences in another country. I learned lots of things about marketing and communication from all the different people I worked with, and I use this knowledge in my internship I have currently. I know that if I did not have experience working as a marketing and communications intern for the NZ Police, I would not have landed the internship I have now.

What were the biggest highlights of your Massey National Expedition Experience?

The biggest highlights from the National Expedition were exploring Wellington’s night market, seeing baby seals swim under a waterfall, experiencing Ogo Rotorua, visiting the bars in Queenstown, having the bacon wrapped chicken breast at Pegasus Arm in Christchurch, and jumping out of a plane 12,000 feet in the air.

What was the biggest challenge of working in NZ? 

I rarely had any challenges in my workplace. The only thing I can think of is some words we use in America mean slightly different things in NZ.

Why would you recommend NE&I to future students?

I would recommend this journey because it literally was the best experience of my life and I learned so much and met so many amazing people. I honestly hated that I had to leave and had to part ways from the people I met through the program and also through my internship. I saw and did so many amazing things even after the expedition part of the program. You go on a trip of a lifetime and also gain knowledge about your future career and learn so many things that will benefit you in your coursework.

dsc_4565

Kelsi was part of the 2016 pilot cohort of the Communication & Marketing track of Massey University’s National Expedition & Internship, and the Social Media guru of the group’s buzz team. We are accepting applications for Summer 2017 until March 15th 2017 – or until spaces fill up! Visit our website for more information on how to apply. 

