Name: Natalie McKeon

Home university: Michigan State University – Lyman Briggs College

Internship placement: Gourmet Direct  – Napier, New Zealand

“My internship supervisor has been a fantastic reference for jobs.”

 

 

DSC_3490.JPG
Stopping at Tawhai Falls on the way to Tongariro National Park on the North Island

 

What was your most memorable experience in New Zealand?

Weekend trip to Rotorua and Taupo skydiving

Biggest accomplishment since NE&I?

Two vet school interviews, 3 internship offers (accepted one) and two full-time job offers

What are you doing now in your degree/career?

Hopefully going to vet school to be a cow vet!

What impact has your internship experience had on your personal and professional journeys?

My internship supervisor has been a fantastic reference for jobs. I still talk to my roommates from the trip (they’ll probably be my bridesmaids) and I learned how to live on my own like a college kid before living in an apartment.

What were the biggest highlights of your Massey National Expedition Experience?

Queens town in general as a city, and the sheep station.

What was the biggest challenge of working in NZ? 

I was expecting to be treated and worked like a stereotypical intern with long hours and mundane tasks, but it was a lot more relaxed than I was expecting.

What advice do you have for future students on the NE&I?

Before you go make a plan for at least one of the weekends you’re there for your internship – you’ll get stir crazy in the hostel. And go see the glow worms – I still wish I had. Also, find people to fly with because you will have already hung out with them and already friends with them for 24 hours by the time you arrive which is good for exploring [your arrival city] and making friends in general

DSC_3425.JPG

Natalie was part of the 2015 cohort of the Agriculture & Environment track of Massey University’s National Expedition & Internship programme. We are accepting applications for Summer 2018 until March 15th 2018 – or until spaces fill up! Visit our website for more information on how to apply and to find out about the Explore New Zealand scholarship (application deadline March 1st 2018). 

